Friday, 20 April 2012

Call for entries: Marc Raeff Book Prize in 18th C Russian Studies

Marc Raeff Book Prize
The Eighteenth-Century Russian Studies Association, an affiliate organization of the Association for Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies (ASEEES), is now accepting submissions for the second annual Marc Raeff Book Prize; and we encourage your press to submit relevant entries to the members of the prize committee (listed below).

The Raeff Book Prize is awarded annually for a publication that is of exceptional merit and lasting significance for understanding Imperial Russia, particularly during the long eighteenth-century.  The recipient of the award will be recognized with a cash prize, which will be presented in November 2012, during the ASEEES annual convention.  The award is sponsored by the ECRSA and named in honor of Marc Raeff (1923-2008), historian, teacher, and dix-huitièmiste par excellence. 

The publication must be a monograph, translation, or reference work about any aspect of the long eighteenth century, on any of the territories of the former imperial Russian state.  Textbooks, festschrifts, and edited collections of essays are not eligible unless they constitute significant and innovative contributions to the field.
The submitted work must bear a copyright date of either one or two years preceding the award year (e.g. for the 2012 competition the published copyright date should be 2011 or 2012).
It can be published in any language read by members of the ECRSA Prize Selection Committee (including Russian) and in any format (analog or digital).
The geographic area of study is broadly defined as the territories of the former imperial Russian state and the Soviet Union. The publication must deal in whole or in part with the long eighteenth century, here defined as the period from the last quarter of the seventeenth-century to the first quarter of the nineteenth-century.
Books that have received other prizes are eligible.
Scholarly merit, originality, and felicity of style will be the main criteria for selection. Submissions from scholars who are less than five (5) years from receiving their doctoral degree are particularly encouraged.
Nominating Instructions:  

Authors or publishers should send one copy of eligible publication to each ECRSA Prize Selection Committee member (see addresses below) AND to the ASEEES main office.
Submissions should be clearly marked “Marc Raeff Book Prize.”
Nominations must be received no later than 30 June 2012. 
Award winners will be personally notified of the award prior to 1 October 2012.

No comments:

Post a Comment